The IESBA develops and issues, under its own standard setting authority, the International Code of Ethics for Professional Accountants (including International Independence Standards) (“the Code”). The Code is for use by professional accountants around the world. The IESBA establishes the Code for international application following due process.

The International Federation of Accountants (IFAC) establishes separate requirements for its member bodies with respect to the Code.

Note About Available Versions

This version includes content that has been approved by the IESBA but is either not yet effective or has been superseded by a newer version. You are able to return to the extant version at any time by clicking on “Return to Extant Version” in the black bar at the top of any page.

I Understand

June 2021

You are now leaving the extant Code to view another version that contains passages that have either been superseded or that have been issued but are not yet effective.

This version of the eCode incorporates changes to Part 4B.

Part 4B relating to independence for assurance practitioners with respect to underlying subject matter covering periods is effective for periods beginning on or after June 15, 2021; otherwise, it is effective as of June 15, 2021. Early adoption is permitted.

I Understand